Hyperparathyroid Forum
By logging-in to this Forum, you are agreeing to the Hyperparathyroid Forum Terms and conditions of Use https://hyperparathyroid.forumotion.co.uk/f5-hyperparathyroid-forum-terms-and-conditions-of-use

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Hyperparathyroid Forum
By logging-in to this Forum, you are agreeing to the Hyperparathyroid Forum Terms and conditions of Use https://hyperparathyroid.forumotion.co.uk/f5-hyperparathyroid-forum-terms-and-conditions-of-use
Hyperparathyroid Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

ONE MORE ENDOCRINE PROBLEM TO ADD TO MY LIST

3 posters

Go down

ONE MORE ENDOCRINE PROBLEM TO ADD TO MY LIST Empty ONE MORE ENDOCRINE PROBLEM TO ADD TO MY LIST

Post by Little Audrey Mon Apr 18, 2016 1:56 pm

I had been suspecting this for many years, and now I have been officially diagnosed with adrenal insufficiency.     I was diagnosed with hypoaldosteronism exactly 2 years ago.  Since aldosterone is another adrenal hormone, I always suspected a cortisol problem too.   It appears my hunch was right on the money, and I have diagnosed myself for the 6th time now.

I had had my serum cortisol level tested a couple of times through the years, and it was within the reference range both times, so the issue was dismissed.

I had many symptoms of low cortisol, but many of these symptoms are similar to symptoms of other endocrine issues, so for the past 35 years, I've been blaming it all on thyroid.    One of these symptoms was relentless severe edema.    My doctors kept prescribing diuretics and telling me there was no apparent cause; that it was simply chronic.   Yes, since it had lasted for 35 years, of course it would be labeled chronic, but SOMETHING had to be causing it!    My doctors gave up on trying to figure this out. I did not.